Saturday, January 17, 2015

Love Means..Endurance By Andrew Grey

Title:  Love Means..Endurance
Author:  Andrew Grey
Publisher:   Dreamspinner Press LLC.
Cover Artist: L.C. Chase
Pgs.  200
Release Date:  January 16, 2015

Together  for  over  ten years, Geoff and Eli built a fulfilling life. Their love and support helped raise their adopted son. Their hard work and dedication grew their farm from raising cattle and boarding horses to expanding into therapy riding sessions. Surrounded by a loving circle of friends, Geoff and Eli couldn’t ask for more. Until driven Eli loses his energy, and the doctor gives them the dire diagnosis of cancer. 

Caught up in never-ending doctor’s appointments, surgeries, and treatments, their world turns upside down. With so many people dependent on them, they must pull together to put on a brave face, continue living as best they can, and care for their family. Geoff fears Eli, the love of his life, while a fighter, may not endure this battle, but neither is willing to consider succumbing as an option.

At first I didn’t want to read this story because it most likely marked the end of something that has been in my life for a few years. I have gotten to know Len’s family, let’s face it, it really all started with Len. He’s the one that helped save the Laughton Farm, the place where all of these wonderful characters received second chances, learned to love, healed, and was able to grow. Len was instrumental in raising Geoff to the man he is now. Teaching him compassion, how to love and not to discriminate and to just be himself.

Geoff took those lessons and opened his home to people who needed guidance and a place to call home. Those people became his family who had his back as he had theirs. One man in particular he gave a home to became the most special to him. Eli, a young Amish man finding his way in the new world, had become the love of his life and the heart and glue of the farm.

That leads to this story, the glue that is Eli. When Eli falls ill, the entire family pitches in and becomes the support Eli and Geoff need to get through this. Cancer is a scary thing and not all get lucky and beat it.

Now with that being said, this IS an Andrew Grey book. We know he wouldn’t be that cruel as to kill off one of the most beloved characters. He did make it challenging for Eli and Geoff though and let us not forget Jakey. Their son received a lesson about life and how it’s not always fair or going to be there.

As this one saddens me the most, mainly because what it might represent, it is my favorite of all of them. It was a family reunion of sorts, even if it was because of a bad situation. I got a glimpse into the lives of former characters and how they are doing.

That actually brings me to a point I want to make. Now this is just my opinion but this could use one more book or maybe a short story. Something or someone has to be fixed.

I love this book so much. I give it Five Blue Roses times Two. J

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Top 20 Books of 2015 by Blue Rose Review

I've done it a bit different this year. I didn't put why I like the books. Also the last book on the list is a collection of books that go together. I hope you like who is on this list. I wanted to put JD Ruskin on this list but the book "When One Door Opens" was published in 2013, I didn't read it until 2014 and I really wanted to include it.

1. The Last Wolf by Sue Brown

2. Hound Dog & The Bean by B.g Thomas

3. All Kinds of Tied Down by Mary Calmes

4 Control by Mary Calmes and Cardeno C.

5. Us Three by Mia Kerick

6. Out of Hiding by Mia Kerick

7. Wave Goodbye to Charlie by Eric Arvin

8. Unwrapping Hank by Eli Easton

9. Tequila Mockingbird  by Rhys Ford. *I wanted to put just Rhys Ford here*

10. Fire and Ice by Andrew Grey

11. Love Comes Around by Andrew Grey

12.Murder on the Mountain by Jamie Fessenden.

13. A Fine Mingling by D.W. Marchwell

14. All That Heaven Will Allow by D.W. Marchwell

15. Candy Man by Amy Lane

16.Loving Leif by Amber Kell

17. The Exfactor by Rj. Scott

18.Angel In A Book Shop by Rj Scott

19. In Me An Invincible Summer by Ryan Loveless

20. Pulp Fricton "The entire set. By Lee Brazil, Havan Fellows, Tom Webb and Laura Harner.

Monday, December 15, 2014

Fire and Water by Andrew Grey

Title: Fire and Water

Author: Andrew Grey

Cover Artist: L.C. Chase

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press LLC

Length: 200 pages

Release Date: December 15, 2014



Officer Red Markham knows about the ugly side of life after a car accident left him scarred and his parents dead. His job policing the streets of Carlisle, PA, only adds to the ugliness, and lately, drug overdoses have been on the rise. One afternoon, Red is dispatched to the local Y for a drowning accident involving a child. Arriving on site, he finds the boy rescued by lifeguard Terry Baumgartner. Of course, Red isn’t surprised when gorgeous Terry won’t give him and his ugly mug the time of day.

Overhearing one of the officer’s comment about him being shallow opens Terry’s eyes. Maybe he isn’t as kindhearted as he always thought. His friend Julie suggests he help those less fortunate by delivering food to the elderly. On his route he meets outspoken Margie, a woman who says what’s on her mind. Turns out, she’s Officer Red’s aunt.

Red and Terry’s worlds collide as Red tries to track the source of the drugs and protect Terry from an ex-boyfriend who won’t take no for an answer. Together they might discover a chance for more than they expected—if they can see beyond what’s on the surface.


“Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves, vanity to what we would have others think of us.” 
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Fire and Water by Andrew Grey is such a fantastic read. I kept looking at the page count to see how far from the end I was getting. I just wanted it to go on and on. It’s that good.

Terry begins the story believing himself to be one way and ends the story learning about the person he actually is and wants to be. First impressions are almost always the worst as they were for Terry. He portrayed himself as shallow, everything was about his looks and what he could get with them. It was pleasant to watch him grow into the man he unlocked from within.

At first sight, Red would be the beast in this story if Terry were the beauty. However looks aren’t everything, Red’s beauty shines from within. The big guy has such a kind heart that he chooses to help the very man who first insulted him. I have a soft spot for the big guys that Andrew Grey writes, they’re mostly big teddy bears with a slight edge, the heroes anyway.

I really enjoyed reading this story as I said. It was nice to see the last big guy Andrew created that I fell in love with from another book. I have already read it twice.

I will have to give this book  Six Blue Roses . I know it’s more than usual but this is my review site. I can do what I want. ;)

Monday, December 1, 2014

Stardust by Andrew Grey

Title: Stardust

Author: Andrew Grey

Cover Artist: Catt Ford

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press LLC

Length: 62 pages

Release Date: December 1, 2014

Duncan is an ocean from home over the holidays and expects to spend them alone. To his pleasant surprise, one of his European co-workers, Georg, befriends him and includes Duncan in the holiday traditions of his homeland: cutting a Christmas tree under starry skies at Georg’s country estate, decorating it at the family’s city home, and shopping at the Christmas market in Munich. Both men are lonely and realize they have much in common. But Georg’s life is in Germany and Duncan’s is in Boston. With the project they’re working on nearing completion, any chance for more than a holiday fling seems as elusive as stardust.

Stardust is about a man who looks toward the stars while wondering if something better will come along down on the ground. It’s the holidays, because of work he’s alone in a foreign country where people are speaking a language he doesn’t know. He’s lonely. Duncan doesn’t expect to find love in a foreign land.
Enter Georg, a co-worker of sorts while Duncan is in Germany. He makes Duncan’s holiday magical. They spend a lot of time together and traditions about the holidays isn’t the only thing they share.
This is a lovely holiday read. I’ve already read it twice. I highly recommend it.
I give this story 5 Blue Roses

Friday, November 7, 2014

A Chaotic Range (Book 7, Range Series) By Andrew Grey

A Chaotic Range

Andrew Grey                                     


Dreamspinner Press LLC

Release Date:
November 7, 2014


Most of the time ranch hand David rescues stray cattle, but this time he and his fellow cowboys Wally and Haven save a stranded motorist. David is surprised to find his former high school classmate nearly frozen in his car. After learning that Brian Applewright’s boss fired him from his ranch for being gay, they invite him back to theirs to take a job.

David and Brian moved in different social circles at school, but working together brings them closer. However, David has a rocky history on the ranch. The foreman is his ex, and he only recently returned after a heartbreakingly unsuccessful attempt to find greener pastures. He can’t risk his heart getting close to anyone.

But on a ranch, nature has a way of forcing an issue. When a snowstorm threatens, David and Brian head out to mend a fence and round up some stray cattle. David gets injured, and they must survive in the snow, cold, and wind. It might be the start of a relationship… or the end of their lives.


I love The Range series, it’s like seeing old friends again while you meet new ones. I can tell you however I did not like David for the first part of this book. Feelings got hurt and I wasn’t in a place to forgive him for what he did to Mario yet. I know I wasn’t the only one he hurt. Seriously, I didn’t like him at first but as the story went on, he redeemed himself. I think Brian had a lot to do with the change in David though.

You know that saying. “You don’t know what you have until it’s gone.”? Yes, well David finally found himself and finished unfinished business. Then he was able to grab onto what was in front of him. Up until the arrival of Brian, David was just there to do his job and lay low. Everyone deserves a second chance and I’m glad now that he got one and it was because Andrew Grey has a kind heart.

Brian, what can I say about Brian? He’s very sweet and he came across to me as innocent. I cannot imagine not wanting a man like him around. But there were things and I do mean things, the word human is too good for them, who hated him just because of who he chose to love. They made his life miserable where he came from. That’s ok though, he found his place with David, Dakota and the rest of the good looking cowboys. Brian is a strong person and a survivor as he has demonstrated quite a few times in this story. I really hope to see more of him in the future.

This book is terrific, I read it straight through from beginning to end in one day. I highly recommend this book and if you haven’t read the Range Books yet. I will list them in order below.

This book gets five Blue Roses


Range Books in Order:

A Shared Range- Published 2010

A Troubled Range- Published 2011

An Unsettled Range- Published 2012

A Foreign Range- Published 2012

An Isolated Range- Published 2012

A Volatile Range- Published 2013

A Chaotic Range- Published 2014

Friday, September 12, 2014

Love Comes Around

Love Comes Around isn’t your average or typical boy meets boy, boy falls in love with boy, they have a fight and separate only to come back to their senses and live happily ever after. No, not one of those, oh there is man meets man but this story dives deeper than that. Also let’s face it, Andrew Grey doesn’t write unhappy endings. He’ll make us cry before we get there but all is well that ends well when reading a book of his. What’s more dominant in this book is finding a place to belong when you’re not good enough or you think you’re not to be wanted. It’s about the love of children that normally wouldn’t get the love they deserve just because they’re not physically perfect or that they’re too much trouble. It takes special people to love these special kids.

Connor O’Malley is a handyman who takes time to make repairs on The Pleasanton Home for Children, which is basically a nice way of saying orphanage. He feels a connection with the kids because he’s felt unwanted his entire life so when he’s there working on something he always leaves time to visit with the children.

Dan Harrington is a very successful businessman. He is striving to prove his father wrong and to make a family of his own choosing. He chooses a family that no one else wanted and who will love him just as he is.

Connor and Dan knew of each other in high school from afar but they meet again because of the work Dan needed done on his home so he could bring another special child into it. An 8 year old boy with MS in a wheelchair named Jerry. Dan had already brought home a 6 year old girl named Lila who has to rely on fore-arm crutches to get around.

Then there’s  Wilson. He took care of the house before Dan took ownership of the place and decided to keep him on. Wilson is the man who keeps everything together, like super glue. He may have started as Dan’s employee but over the years it’s more of a friendship that keeps the wheels turning for the household. He’s like Alfred.

You will fall in love with this brood, I have no doubt. All of them are wrestling with fears of being left alone and having to fight their own demons. Lila and Jerry are very special children, not only because of their physical in-capabilities but because of how they chose to handle them.

Love Comes around has a special place in my heart. I was once one of the unwanted children myself. Happy Reading!

 I give this book 5  Blue roses

Monday, August 18, 2014

Upside Down by Andrew Grey


Lowell Cartwright’s life as a mercenary problem solver has taken its toll, and after one more difficult job, he wants out. For help, he turns to Bull, a soldier of fortune turned club owner—not exactly a friend, but the best chance Lowell has. He visits Bull’s club to scope it out and meets Jeremy Hodgson. The twink captures his attention in a big way. Bull tells Lowell to stay away from the club until he decides whether he can help, so Lowell stays in town. When he spots Jeremy passed out on the floor of a convenience store, he goes to Jeremy’s aid.

Lowell piques Jeremy’s interest immediately, pushing all the right buttons. Then, when Jeremy needs help, Lowell’s kindness turns interest into something more.

But trouble comes knocking when Jeremy’s place is bugged. Maybe Lowell’s past is catching up to him, or maybe the danger centers on Jeremy’s roommate Tristan’s mysterious boyfriend. Whatever the source of the problem, the future Lowell and Jeremy hope for doesn't stand a chance unless they can find a way to protect themselves.

My Review:

Spook has been redeemed! I love how Andrew Grey changed his fate. He was a cool badass in the first one, where you didn’t know whether to like him or hate him. He did pull a gun on Bull after all. That would explain the bad attitude that Zach has in this. Zach goes from the timid/shy character to protecting mama tiger who takes no prisoners. Alas, this book isn’t about him and Bull. Well, not directly. It is Spook’s and Jeremy’s turn to shine.

Lowell aka Spook, wants out of the mercenary business and he only knows of one person who had successfully left it all behind so he goes to him for help. While waiting to talk to Bull, Lowell’s eyes fall upon Jeremy Hodgson. 

Bull tells Lowell he’ll think about helping but in the meantime to stay away from the club.

In the meantime Lowell comes across Jeremy passed out in a store and helps him.

Lowell catches Jeremy’s eye. He pushes all of Jeremy’s buttons and he wants to know Lowell better but before that happens there are hurdles to jump as in who can they trust and house to clean as in get rid of people who are after you.

I LOVE this book, but I have to say I still love Bull more. Although Upside Down was closer to the life of a mercenary.  I really love these books and hope the rest of the party finds love as well. Maybe not as dangerous , Tristan needs a good man.J

I give this story Five Blue Roses